This page was last updated on: February 27, 2015
MainGSCNC HighlightsCamp HistoryCollectionsPrograms for GirlsHERstories
Committee WorkIndentify Stuff!Exhibits & FeaturesGSUSA- Older Girls Events

Previous Girl Scout Councils that became
A Timeline
1912    March 12 - Savannah Georgia, first troop organized.

1913    Girl Scouts, Inc. - National headquarter in the Massey Bldg in Washington, DC

1913    First Troops organized in DC and close Maryland suburbs

1918    Girl Scouts of the District of Columbia 
1932    National Capital Girl Scout Council

1935    Prince Georges Girl Scout Council chartered from DC troops

1938    Arlington Girl Scout Council chartered from DC troops

1938    Alexandria Girl Scout Council chartered from DC troops

1946    Fairfax County Girl Scout Council chartered from Arlington troops &
            Quantico Marine base troops

1957    Southern Maryland GIrl Scout Council chartered from Prince Georges and adding
            troops in St. Mary's  and Calvert counties

1958    Northern Virginia Girl Scout Council was renamed as Fairfax County
Council of Girl Scouts expanding to include the City of Falls Church, VA,
and the Quantico Marine Corps base schools and Lone Troops in Prince
William, Loudoun and Fauquire counties 

1963    Girls Scout Council of the Nation's Capital chartered as merger of above
            5 councils with the additional Virgnia counties of Fauquier, Loudoun and
            Prince William  and  Maryland counties of Calvert and Charles.

2006    Frederick County MD troops formerly Penn-Laurel GSC (PA) merge with

2009    Shawnee Girl Scout Council (Allegany and Washington Counties in Maryland;
            Clarke, Frederick, Page, Shenandoah and Warren Counties in Virginia; and
            Berkeley, Grant, Hampshire, Hardy, Jefferson, Mineral and Morgan Counties
            in West Virginia join GSCNC to form one of the largest Girl Scout Council
            in the United States.